• Quick Menu
  • Schedule
  • Ticketing Guide
  • Venues
  • Ticket Catalogue Download
  • 맨 위로 가기


Overview Award & Juries Regulations Poster/Logo/Trailer
Sponsors Organization    

Award & Juries

Asian Short Film & Video Competition

SEOUL International Women's Film Festival's representative competition section, 'Asian Short Film & Video Competition' has received attention for its uniqueness giving off power of Asian women's films. In 2017, among the 429 films submitted from 30 countries, a total of 17 films was selected for the finals and will compete for Grand Prize and First Prize at the Asian Short Film & Video Competition. Founded in 2001, this competition has produced talented female directors such as JEONG Jae-eun, PARK Chan-ok, LEE Kyungmi, ROH Deok, SHIN A-ga, HONG Jae-hee and others.


Grand Prize 6 million KRW and a trophy for the best short film
First Prize 2 million KRW and a trophy for the 2 outstanding short films
Audience Award A trophy

Jury of Finals

HAN Ye-ri
HAN Ye-ri made her debut in the film Resurrection of the Butterfly in 2007, and built her filmography with One Step More to the Sea, Paju, A Blind River, and etc. She won the Best New Actress Award from the 49th Baeksang Arts Awards in 2012 for her role of Yu Sunbok in As One. Afterwards she starred in South Bound, The Spy: Undercover Operation, Dear Dolphin, etc, and broke through to top-rank stardom with Love Guide for Dumpees in 2015, and The Hunt, Worst Woman, and A Quiet Dream in 2016, in which her charismatic performances, in contrast to her tender tone and tidy and composed demeanor, mesmerized audiences. Her new film The Table will soon be released, and the 2nd season of the TV series Age of Youth is set to be filmed.
YOON Ga-eun
Born in Seoul. She majored history and religious studies at Sogang University, and finished her M.F.A. in the Department of Film Making of the School of Film, TV & Multimedia at the Korea National University of Arts. Beginning with her first short film The Taste of Salvia(2009), her directorial works includes Guest(2011), Sprout(2013), and etc. She made her feature debut with The World of Us, an independent feature film in 2016, and her second feature film is now in preparation.
Chalida UABUMRUNGJIT is one of the founding members of Thai Short Film and Video Festival which she served as Festival Director since 1997. She also programs for Salaya Documentary Film Festival and Silent Film Festival in Thailand. She coordinated programs of Thai films for various international festivals and also involve in making a number of experimental films and documentaries. She is also one of the selection committee of AND (Asian Network of Documentary). She is one of the advocate for independent films and film preservation in Thailand. Currently she works as Deputy Director of the Film Archive, Thailand.

Preliminary Jury

Kay KWAK graduated from the Department of Communication at Chungnam National University, and finished MFA coursework of the Department of Film and Digital Media at Dongguk University. She worked as a staff member for various film festivals including SIWFF(Seoul International Women’s Film Festival), BIFAN(Bucheon International Fantastic Film Festival), etc., and also as a team manager of international business department at Indiestory, a film distribution company specialized in Korean independent film.
BAE Ju-yeon
BAE Ju-yeon is a lecturer of the Department of Cinema Studies of the School of Film, TV & Multimedia at the Korea National University of Arts, and worked as a programmer for the Sangsang Madang Cinema. She co-wrote Talks on Short Films, and published several papers including Gendered Multiculturalism in Contemporary Korean Cinema, Korean Diaspora in Contemporary Korean Cinema, and etc. She earned her doctoral degree with her dissertation The Representation of Asian “Others” in Contemporary Korean Cinema.
CHO HyeYoung
Programmer of SIWFF. Holds a PhD in Film Studies. She has co-authored Today’s Korean Documentary Films, and Girls, and has translated Women’s Cinema: The Contested Screen and Deviations: A Gayle Rubin Reader (co-translation). She has also been known for her experience as the programmer for the Green Film Festival in Seoul, and producer of the documentary 3xFTM.


'I-TEENS' sponsored by Korea Broadcasting Art School. Out of 7 selected finalists, the jury panel of teenage girls will decide the 2 best short films of the Korea Broadcasting Art School I-TEENS Award during the festival.

Korea Broadcasting Art School I-TEENS Award
2 films | Each film will be awarded a trophy and a cash prize of 500,000 KRW as well as an entrance scholarship of 2,000,000 KRW for the Korea Broadcasting Art School
I-TEENS Audience Award
1 film | A trophy


GWON Se-hyeon , Kim Na-hye, KIM Si-eun, PARK San-a, PARK Seong-eun, BAE Chae-rin, BYUN Ye-jin, SEO Hyeon-ha, SHIN Jee-won , YOON So-hee, JUNG Sun-ah, JEONG Yu-rim, CHEON Su-won

Pitch & Catch


Feature Film Megabox Award 20 million KRW
Audience Award A Megabox ticket valid for a year
Documentary Ock Rang Award 15 million KRW
Digital Post Production Aid Sponsored by Post Fin
Audience Award A Megabox ticket valid for a year

NAWFF Award 2017

NAWFF Award is an annual event hosted by NAWFF(Network of Asian Women's Film Festivals). Every year, each NAWFF member nominate a feature-length film by female director(s) from the member's country. The winner is selected among these nominees by the voting of every NAWFF member, and a cash prize with a certificate of award is given to the winner.